Friday’s Frugal Feed ~ Chicken Soupy Stew.

So I’ve decided to have specific days for specific things on my blog. Purely because I get bored with listening to some of the things I write about and partly because there is more to me as an individual than just ranting and raving, venting, complaining and strange ideas. Oh don’t worry I’ll keep days aside for those things too. But I figured since I have to cook just about every single night of the week I’d share some of the extra special yummy things I really like.

I want to try to only blog about cheap, delicious and family friendly foods which is what I cook a lot of. I will warn you now that most of my Friday’s Frugal Feeds will end up being desserts, which I love and excel at making. But for today I’m beginning with a chicken soupy stew I came up with a while ago and no one in our house has gotten sick of yet.

Glen usually puts on a crusty loaf of bread to be ready to whip out at serving time, but he wasn’t home today so we’re having shop brought bread and butter on the side. (Freshly baked is way better! But you knew that.Oh and I am capable of putting a loaf on, but it is his ‘thing’ and I didn’t want to move in on his territory.)

Everyone has a special version of chicken soup they have adapted to their family and love and here’s mine –

Chicken Soupy Stew.

Ingredients –

  • 4 chicken thighs
  • 3 medium potatoes
  • 2 medium carrots
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1 small onion
  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 packet of angel hair spaghetti
  • salt and pepper
  • (I don’t add oil, the fat on the chicken is plenty.)

Now keep in mind this makes enough to feed my family of 6 and have some left for lunch the next day, if no one has seconds for dinner that is!

So chop it all up! Nothing fancy, just chunks.

I always put the chicken into the bottom of a medium saucepan first, the one time I didn’t, the chicken just didn’t break up as much as being in the bottom and cooking first. (This can also be cooked in a slow cooker if you prefer.) Then pile everything else in on top. (I sometimes use cabbage instead of celery.) Then fill with water to cover all ingredients. Leave out the salt and pepper and spaghetti for now.

I usually turn it up to high and once it begins to boil I turn it right down to low and put a lid on it.

I started this chicken soupy stew at around 3pm, so once it’s simmering away, just walk away!

Leave it, don’t touch it, maybe check on it occasionally to make sure the water has not evaporated too much, if it has, add more. 

After a couple of hours have a little look, and a little taste. This is when I would add salt and pepper and more water.

After adding salt and pepper give it a good stir to break up the chicken and mush the potatoes and soft veggies together a bit.

Once its all broken up and yummy looking, about an hour to half an hour before serving I snap the spaghetti in half and throw it in too. (Sometimes I use fettucine, or glass noodles. It’s all good.)

And add more water. Taste and add salt and pepper if needed.

When it looks like this, its time to do this….

And eat it!

Some bread and butter to soak up that juicy chickeny goodness!

Yum!

Leave a Reply

