Friday’s Frugal Feed ~ Lemon slice ~

Yes I know it’s not Friday, but I made you think didn’t I? In search of some distraction yesterday afternoon I decided to bake. Whats the saying?

Stressed is desserts backwards??!

I saw this recipe a few weeks back, someone had blogged about it saying it was the best lemon slice they’d ever had and being a fan of any lemony type desserts I thought I would try it. I changed a few aspects and I had some trouble too, firstly with my camera which I forgot to put a memory card in so I don’t have pics of the actual process like usual. And some weird things happened in the cooking phases.

BUT I must say, in the end it was as delicious as promised. Here’s the recipe for those using them –

Ingredients for the crust-

  • 2 cups plain flour
  • 2/3 cup icing sugar
  • I cup of chilled cubed butter

Ingredients for filling-

  • 8 eggs
  • 3 cups caster sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups of fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 cups plain flour

Method-

Firstly pre-heat your oven to HOT, as hot as you can get it. In a large bowl place your flour, icing sugar and cubed butter. Using your fingertips, rub the butter into the flour mixture until it forms a dough type consistency and holds together when you grab a handful and squeeze it. (The recipe states to use a stand mixer with the paddle attachment, I don’t have one so I used my hands, just as effective just takes a little longer.)

Next press it out into a greased (I also used aluminium foil to line my baking dish, I didn’t have any baking paper left!) baking dish about 9 x 13 inch. Then bake the crust until golden brown, the recipe says 20 minutes, I say check on it regularly. Oh and prick it with a fork. It puffs up heaps otherwise. Take it out once looking good and allow it to cool.

To make the filling you’ll need to cut all those lemons in half and squeeze out all the juice! Just a tip, take them out of the fridge at least an hour before hand, I froze my hands squeezing so many. Room temp a must! Strain off any seeds and pulp. This is the part where I would insert photo of little ‘helpers’ tasting the Left over lemon halves, darn memory card! Put into a large bowl and add your 8 eggs, sugar and flour. Now the recipe says to ‘whisk’ it, but my trusty old whisk was thrown out recently by someone thinking it was ‘broken’ so I used my electric mixer, you’ll get the same end product and probably quicker and with less arm pain too.

Pour mixture into the prepared crust. Put the dish into the centre of your oven and keep and eye on it to see when the filling has set. I checked on it at 15-20 minutes and found that my crust had actually risen and was now on top of my filling! So it kinda was an upside down lemon slice. I left it until the custard was set and took it out.

Leave it to cool as it will set further. Then enjoy! Seriously sweet and tangy.

So delish!

2 thoughts on “Friday’s Frugal Feed ~ Lemon slice ~

    1. Me too! Considering I am the only one who likes it, I haven’t even seperated it into ‘sensible’ slices. I sadly admit I have been picking at it with a fork when I go to the fridge. Note to self -make a smaller one next time 😀

Leave a Reply

