Skinny Sunday 2

So what is Skinny Sunday?

Glen and Cristie are using it to share their progress on their health and weight management. Using Skinny Sunday to keep track of goals achieved or not. They will weigh in and post photos to document their progress each Sunday. Any one wanting some encouragement to lose weight or get into shape is more than welcome to join them!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So how did you go with your first week of Skinny Sunday?

Glen says:”Crap, I was flat-out with work and couldn’t do much exercise wise.” Cristie says: “I surprised myself and really stuck to everything I wanted to. The main thing I really wanted to do was drink at least a 1 litre of water per day, which I did. Just drinking more water alone made me feel way better and my skin is nicer.”

What are your weight goals?

Glen says: “To gain weight and get into the 90’s, around 95kgs. I don’t want to be a fat 95. An in shape 95.” Cristie says: “I’d like to get back down into the 70’s. I won’t go lower than 70kgs. I like being ‘soft’.”

What changes are you going to make?

Glen says: “Start working out. Get some protein drinks and stuff. Eat healthier food.” Cristie says: “Eat lots of fruit, veg, nuts and lean meat mostly chicken. Start doing some exercises like sit ups and push ups. Start running again, well work up to it. Just be healthier and say no to bad food.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

WEIGH IN

                                                 Glen                                                                       Cristie

Weight  last week                   77 kg                                                                      95 kg

Current weight                      77 kg                                                                       92 kg

Difference                                 o kg                                                                      -3 kg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

DIET Photo’s

I sliced some sweet potato, boiled and then threw it in a hot pan for a few minutes for lunch.

Citrus salad and portuguese chicken breast with almonds, tomato and orange.

Tasty and nutritious snacks. (I made up little platters like this around morning and afternoon tea -10am &3 pm- so the girls and I could snack on it, the kids didn’t complain once during the week and liked everything they were given!)

Yum! warm porridge with banana chips and sultanas and a touch of skim milk.

Barely fried rice.

Cook a cup of rice (brown is better, takes longer and tastes nutty) in a large fry pan heat up about 1 tbsp of oil. Throw in 1-2 cups of frozen veggies and lightly fry them. Whisk 3 eggs together in a bowl them pour into the fry pan with veggies, scrap and stir it around until it cooks to a scrambled egg consistency. Throw in the rice and mix well. Add 2 tbsp of salt reduced soy sauce. (more or less depends on your taste.)

See I didn’t quit coffee. (I couldn’t) I swapped my usual 1 tsp of sugar and full cream milk for 1/4 tsp artificial sugar and skim milk.

Hopefully this will help Glen out a little bit. (He’ll start sprinkling it over my fruit salads!)

(Behind the scene photos? http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/pages/Yager-Babies/196004863777995 see them here.)

What do you think of your progress?

Glen says:”Crap. Very disappointing, I ate a s$#t load of food and nothing happened.” Cristie says: ” I am really happy, 3kg down only 22kg to go! I felt better being more active during the week and I really don’t mind the change in diet, I really want chocolate though but I can have some on our ‘off’ day, so it is something to look forward to, if I stick to my plans.”

What do you think of each others progress?

Glen says: “I am very happy with Cristie and proud of her.” Cristie says: “I hope Glen doesn’t lose motivation, he set himself some tough goals. He’s got himself some protein milkshake stuff when we went grocery shopping so hopefully that helps. He didn’t work out however and I didn’t mention it because I didn’t want to nag, but this week I think I will! I’ll have to be cruel to be kind I think. “

Was it difficult to adjust to the changes and fit everything in?

Glen says: ‘No.’ Cristie Says: “To begin with I was a little scared because I know how much I like to eat! I love food. But I made sure I was never getting hunger pains or anything, the hardest was a couple of hours after dinner when I usually get my big sugar craving. I’d grab a handful of sultanas or a piece of fruit or go to bed, because that’s really what my body wanted! Using the treadmill was a little harder with the little kids. I had to either wake up extra early while they were still sleeping to get in 30 mins or wait until nap time. A couple of the 30 mins sessions I did Sophie and Violet kept me company, but it made it hard as they wanted to show me things and I couldn’t really turn to look without thinking I was going to fall off! I played music which the girls had a dance party while I power walked along, a couple of times I did my 30 mins while chatting to my sister or best friend on the phone, which made it go by so much quicker and easier. So no. It wasn’t difficult and I know I can keep it up as long as I know what I want in the end.”

What do you hope to achieve by next Sunday?

Glen: “I want to gain at least 1 kg. And work out as much as possible when I’m not at work. At least 3 times a week, situps, push ups.” Cristie: “I hope to lose another 1 kg minimum. I’ll make sure I drink a minimum of 1 litre of water per day and I am going to use the treadmill for 4 hours this week as I know I can fit it in, and my next step up is to include 20 situps and ‘girly’ push ups. And I am limiting my cups of coffee to 3 per day. That will be the hardest part.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cristie says:

“I’ve set myself some rewards to keep myself motivated. I have a port-a-cot full of bagged up clothes I used to be able to wear when I was a lot smaller which I have sitting in front of the treadmill. I have decided that once I get down to 85 kg I am going ‘free’ shopping! I’m going to tear open the bags and check out all my cute stuff I haven’t worn for so long and see what I can squeeze into. (Have to wash it, which will suck!) Then once I hit 75 kg I will treat myself again, but that is still a while away so I haven’t got anything planned for that yet. Looking forward to it though!”

“I really hope I can motivate Glen. He did eat more. His 3kg weight gain was a bit much and he didn’t work out, I think he is fine the way he is, but if it is his goal to gain weight then I’ll support his wishes, think I’ll even start bossing him around to help him out.”

Glen says:

“The food this week was delicious, I’m happy for Cristie and proud of her, but I am really disappointed with my lack of weight gain. It sucks.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 All in all the week as a family went well. We made sure we had more outings like walks through the botanical gardens and a couple of trips to the park, just being out doors made us more active without meaning to be but was an added bonus. We are all happy with the diet I’ve put together (I worked on it pretty hard as I don’t ever like to be hungry and I didn’t want to just eat lettuce leaves and bran.)  Our diet is something we can keep up in the long-term and suits us all.

A new week ahead means new challenges, it is exciting thinking about the long-term but for now we need to concentrate on the day by day progress to get there.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

To anyone trying to lose weight-

There is no quick fix.

Pills, extreme diets, even starving yourself will not work in the long run. Losing weight is a state of mind. And ANYONE can do it. Common sense is the key to doing it. I’ve lost weight then gained it and lost it again and gained it (mainly with pregnancies) when you put something bad into your mouth you know what you’re doing. It will affect your energy levels, you skin, your hair, your teeth, your children’s view of food, and in the end your weight.

The way I see weight loss?

Eat healthy. Move more.

Simple.

Really it is.

Do you really need a ten inch thick piece of chocolate cake? (yes sometimes) but once that last mouthful is gone, that’s it, no more, the flavour will linger only as long as a 2 inch thick piece will. And you won’t feel as bad. Maybe if you’re not committed to losing weight right now, maybe you could just halve everything your currently eating, take a stroll around the block 3 times a week and just see what happens?

“I have always been big, it’s just how I am.”

Really?

Think about your health and your heart and your kids.

Don’t obsess as it gets you no where.

Give yourself months to reach your goals not days because you will be let down.

‘i don’t have the time.”

Don’t even get ME started on that one!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Anyway I have lectured enough.

Have a happy day, Glen and I will have pictures of ourselves again next Sunday! (Still not looking forward to it, but I know I’ll be at least 3 kg lighter than last time!)

Wish us luck!

And

Good luck to you!

5 thoughts on “Skinny Sunday 2

  1. Geat work! keep at it! Don’t think Glen is ever going to get where he wants to – just not in his build!

    1. Thank you! I’m feeling really good! And getting good results knowing I haven’t made much of a change at all is really nice. Yeah I agree, I don’t think Glen’s going to get big and buff, I think he could get big and fat if he really tried lol I think he will probably lose more working out than he will put on. He’ll have fun trying 😀

  2. remember glen that fat weighs more than muscle. so when you convert it over you seem to loose weigh when your really building muscle size. so stick in there. Glad your enjoying it Cristie keep up the good work and enjoy your off day treat of choccy

Leave a Reply

