Skinny Sunday 3

So what is Skinny Sunday?

Glen and Cristie are using it to share their progress on their health and weight management. Using Skinny Sunday to keep track of goals achieved or not. They will weigh in and post photos to document their progress each Sunday. Any one wanting some encouragement to lose weight or get into shape is more than welcome to join them!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So how did you go with your second week of Skinny Sunday?

Glen says:”I managed to exercise once, but I lost motivation.” Cristie says: “Not to bad, I did more exercise this week but I was a bit slack in the eating department. I thought I had found my new tasty treat for after dinner (I always like something sweet late at night) after 3 nights snacking on banana chips I thought I would do some research , turns out it really was too good to be true, so delicious yet unhealthy! Who knew? So I sabotaged myself a bit, I also had some of the cookies we made. I still had a loss which is great but just wondering if the food made any difference to the amount. Oh and amazingly I stuck to my 3 cups of coffee a day.”

What are your weight goals?

Glen says: “To gain weight and get into the 90’s, around 95kgs. I don’t want to be a fat 95. An in shape 95.” Cristie says: “I’d like to get back down into the 70’s. I won’t go lower than 70kgs. I like being ‘soft’.”

What changes are you going to make?

Glen says: “Start working out. Get some protein drinks and stuff. Eat healthier food.” Cristie says: “Eat lots of fruit, veg, nuts and lean meat mostly chicken. Start doing some exercises like sit ups and push ups. Start running again, well work up to it. Just be healthier and say no to bad food.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

WEIGH IN

                                                 Glen                                                                       Cristie

Weight  1st week                    77 kg                                                                      95 kg

 Weight 2nd week                  77 kg                                                                       92 kg

Difference                                o kg                                                                       -3 kg

Current weight                      79 kg                                                                      91 kg

Difference                              +2 kg                                                                      -1 kg

(rounded to the nearest whole kg)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 Photo’s

Sweaty business this exercise thing.

I did these comparison photo’s to help me see the difference and stay motivated to make more changes. (and to show you that changes can be made in just 2 weeks!)

 A1 and A. I can see that my baby belly is getting smaller, it has accommodated 5 new people so I am sure I will forever keep some kind of memento in this area so I am not worried about it. I actually like it! Like a badge of honour (weirdly I’m not ashamed of the many stretch marks either.)

B1 and B. aka Butt. I think it has gotten a bit smaller. I don’t really want it to get too small. I do feel like it is getting in ‘shape’ though.

C1 and C. Tuck shop lady arms! Yay! A bit smaller! I think the push ups are helping to tone them a little.

D1 and D. This would be my jaw line, which I used to be very proud of. (my favorite features? Hands and jaw line, strange.) As you can see, which I am glad I can now too, it is slowly becoming more defined. (phew)

E1, F1 and E, F. This is a very important part to a woman! Hips/waistline. Mine is coming back! I am very happy to say. When I am on the treadmill I concentrate on keeping my tummy and sides tight and my butt. That alone is a work out! But it’s working. (those hideous undies are gone, they were comfy but that was the only plus about them!)

G1 and G. Calf muscles. Well they aren’t as plagued with excess weight in the second photo, I am not sure whether that is to do with pregnancy fluid leaving or the exercise. I am a little scared that I will get man legs if I use the treadmill too much. Your thoughts?

H1 and H. Originally I was going to apologise for my bed hair in H, but then I looked at H1 and it isn’t much better. I have no excuse for this one!

(Behind the scene photos? http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/pages/Yager-Babies/196004863777995 see them here.)

What do you think of your progress?

Glen says:”I am happy that I finally put some weight on.” Cristie says: ” I am glad I had a loss. I think it would have been disappointing to have not at least lost that 1 kg as I managed to do an extra hour on the treadmill this week and I have been doing 10 sit ups and 10 girly push ups after each 30 mins on the treadmill. Next week I’ll amp up my will power against sweet foods and see if it makes a difference.”

What changes have you noticed? 

Glen says: ”I haven’t really noticed any changes, but I haven’t been very committed either.”  Cristie Says: “I have noticed my intolerance to sweets! On my off day I made an apple crumble because I love it! But I served myself half as much as I would have previous to Skinny Sunday and I still couldn’t eat it all, I felt sick. That night I was looking forward to chocolate as mid-week I was craving it badly, I kept telling myself I could have some on Sunday and was looking forward to it (my cravings had faded though) so I had my chocolate and I felt sick! I’ve really noticed the effects of sugar now that I am not eating it daily. When I had some of our cookies I ended up with a head ache, just too much sugar. Also my jaw line is slowly emerging from my excess neck! Starting to feel like I am getting my shape back. (Glen would say ’round IS a shape!’)I’ve noticed some of my more hugging clothes aren’t so hugging!”

What do you hope to achieve by next Sunday?

Glen: “I’d like to gain at least 1 kg. I’ll exercise more than once and drink my protein shakes.” Cristie: “I hope to lose another 1 kg minimum. I really want to be in the 80’s next week! I’m going to keep up my water, I’m going to drink 2 litres per day and cut out another cup of coffee. So only 2 coffees per day. I’ll keep up with my 4 hours on the treadmill and my 10 push ups and situps per 30 mins. I’m really going to battle with my will this week coming too. I know I can say no, I just have to do it!”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cristie says:

“I really hope I hit the 80’s this week coming, If I do I’m going to open up some of those bags of clothes and wash them and I’ll post some pictures of the outfits I hope to be wearing again soon. I think it will help motivate me to keep working at it. I’d love to treat myself to a little shopping spree for christmas, to dress my sleeker self. I’m really enjoying it all, it can be hard to fit it in with keeping the kids happy and entertained, feeding people, dressing people, cleaning, just life in general. But I make sure I MAKE time. I can fit 30 mins in, early morning, late at night, during nap time if I can’t at any other times. It is possible and way better than sitting on my butt eating!”

Glen says:

“I really want to get motivated and work harder.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Our diet this week was a little slack. I am still trying to perfect our grocery list, mid-week we’d eaten all our fresh salads and vegetables and were left with a pile of oranges! We had plenty of frozen veg, berries and lean meat, lots of dried fruit, nuts and seeds, but nothing fresh. We shop weekly most of the time so I have to work on that a little bit. I won’t give up however.

A new week ahead means new challenges, it is exciting thinking about the long-term but for now we need to concentrate on the day by day progress to get there.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Simple tricks I’ve found.

Keeping a little bowl of nuts and seeds on the bench helps to keep me out of the fridge if I feel a little snacky.

Instead of chocolate in the evenings I’ve realised that I love frozen blueberries and walnuts way more!

When I get that thought of ‘What should I do now?’ I hop on the treadmill for 30 mins, I feel sweaty yet energetic afterwards, our house has been really clean!

Being more active is catchy, my girls have started doing running races back and forth across our back yard when I’m on the treadmill. It’s fun listening to them giggle and it distracts me from that boring yellow wall I stare at!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

New week, exciting and scary!

Wish us luck!

And

Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

