Piercings and Tattoos.

The very scary day will come when one of my innocently beautiful girls comes to me and asks for a belly button piercing is looming. Perhaps not the little ones yet but Bella is 10 and despite her very low pain threshold, I can see her interest.

The piercing part doesn’t really worry me.

I have 2 myself, apart from my ears. I spontaneously decided to get a beauty spot piercing when I’d made the decision to change my life for the better and break off my horrible relationship, which led me to be a single mum of 3 and ultimately I ended up meeting the perfect man for me and marrying him.

My nose was done shortly after Buddy was released from hospital after he recovered from whooping-cough. The near loss of a child changed me inside, I wanted that to show on the outside.

For me my piercings represent important changing moments in my life. They are the physical side of very internal changes that have taken place.

They have meaning to me, if no one else. I plan to have them until I’m an old granny.

If my girls want a piercing later in life. I don’t think I’ll have the dramatic outbursts that my parents had when I once got a piercing without permission.

I was in highschool, and we were on a school trip to Sydney, my friend and I decided we’d get our ear pierced, higher up in the tougher top part. I went first, Pop, and then my friend passed out. Leaving me the only pierced one. I was so concerned for her however that I didn’t have time to worry about the pain or the fact that I’d face punishment alone.

We arrived home from our trip and our parents had somehow heard of ‘the girl who got a piercing’ Mums were checking their daughters ears left right and centre. My mother made a beeline to me, flipped my hair back and said ‘I knew it would be you. Why did it have to be you?’ There was an audible sigh of relief from the other mothers.

I was taken home where dad proceeded to call me a prostitute, cheap and a whole lot of other things despite my 13 years.

I didn’t see how a piercing should immediately give me some kind of label.

And at the end of the day, if you get tired of a piercing, you remove it and you’d never know it was there.

If my girls want a piercing.

So be it.

Now tattoos are different. They are permanent. Something you’re going to be looking at when your 85 and purple haired. I have always wanted one, but have never decided on what. And like my piercings I’d like it to have a profound meaning to me, not some little fad thing that a million others have and means nothing to me.

I see tattoos as the ultimate commitment. I also see them as art. I think they’re beautiful and such an expression of whats important to someone.

I have a couple of ideas which are unique and original. I am not 100% sure I want to commit as I like being an individual and to NOT have a tattoo in this day and age is pretty special.

If I did decide on what I wanted, then I would have the drama of choosing where to put it as I think that’s also an important part. I’d like any tattoo I have to flow with the natural form of my body, not just some randomly placed picture on my skin. If I want to hide it I can.

I think it is harsh the criticism that some people cop from having tattoos or piercings. Some of the most lovely people I know are covered with tattoos and piercings. They are emotional souls who express themselves in numerous ways, including on their skin.

I do love drawing tattoos for others. I like seeing the finally product on their skin. If my girls wanted a tattoo, I would sit down for hours on end and design and talk and draw and let them know that they may think it is ‘cool’ now but in 5, 10, 50 years they may regret their ‘cool’ tattoo and be stuck with it for the entirety of their lives.

I am ok with piercings, I am open to tattoos.

I hope most of all that what my children do, they do for themselves.

No one else but them.

One thought on “Piercings and Tattoos.

Leave a Reply

