The 11th and 12th things that YOU didn’t need to know about me!

A while ago I participated in one of those blogging things…I came up with ’10 things you didn’t need to know about me’

And now I have more….amazingly there is more than 10 things about me that YOU really don’t need to know!!

so 11-

I am in love. The search is over. For the past 10 years I have been looking so very hard, trying things and looking for my perfect match. Meet my love….

 

I have always loved coconut milk. Fresh from the coconut! Ever since I’ve been a kid, I have had a bit of an obsession with it, I’d buy a whole coconut, grab a hammer and a screw driver (there must be an easier way??) Make a hole in the sloths face -I’ll explain further- and then I’d make a second one as the milk just won’t come out otherwise…. I’d sit that coconut upside down over a glass for as long as it took to drain every last drop and then chill it. Once it was sufficiently cool I’d sip it, savouring every last drip.

The problem however, is that coconuts are not available all year round, AND it looks strange having a whole pile of them in my fridge. Some people have can upon can of coke, I would have piles of coconuts in my fridge.

There’s just a weird kind of message that sends to people.

I’ve bought cans of coconut milk, coconut cream, milky coconut cream, creamed milky coconut, nutty cream coco milk, milky nut cream…..ok I made up the last few….but I have never been able to find anything relatively CLOSE to the fresh simplicity that is JUST pure coconut milk.

Yet now I have, for aesthetics purposes I assume they’ve strained out the little cloudy bits and the brown floaties that I actually like.

But otherwise it is as close as I am going to get WITHOUT the pile of brown hair, sloth faced nuts in my fridge.

And I’m excited.

Lip smacking goodness….finally.

Which brings me to number 12-

I am tongue tied, not in the sense that I fumble over words, well I do that too. But literally I was born tongue tied.

“The medical term for the condition known as tongue-tie is “ankyloglossia”. It results when the frenulum (the band of tissue that connects the bottom of the tongue to the floor of the mouth) is too short and tight, causing the movement of the tongue to be restricted. Severe tongue-tie can cause problems with speech. Certain sounds are difficult to make if the tongue can’t move freely (especially ‘th’, ‘s’, ‘d’, ‘l’, and ‘t’). In addition to forming specific sounds, tongue-tie may also make it hard for a child to lick an ice cream cone, stick out his tongue, play a wind instrument, or French kiss. While these may not seem like important skills to you as a new mother, someday they may be very important to your child!”

I do know I did get to a point where I was worried about the kissing part!!! I even made my parents speak to a doctor about it, apparently to have it corrected when your older is a bigger deal than at birth so it never happened. Yet now I wouldn’t want to change it for the world.

Once upon a time it was routine to just clip the little bit of skin under the tongue of a tongue tied baby. Which is usually detected when the baby first cries. I was an angel and didn’t cry…so my severe tongue tiedness slip through the cracks.

Some of the things that go along with being tongue tied include-

    • Inability to open the mouth widely affects speech and eating habits.
    • Always having to watch their speech
    • Inability to speak clearly when talking fast/loud/soft
    • Difficulty talking after even moderate amounts of alcohol
    • Clicky jaws
    • Pain in the jaws
    • Migraine
    • Protrusion of the lower jaws, inferior prognathism.
    • Multiple effects in work situations.
    • Effects on social situations, eating out, kissing, relationships

Some of these things have never affected me personally, but I do relate to having to ‘watch my speech’ and I do have difficulty when trying to speak quickly, and really who doesn’t have trouble speaking after alcohol consumption!

I have over my time been asked if I have an accent….people close to me don’t really think about it, well as far as I know, but I do know that I have grown up with an adjusted version or sound to my speech and a way of pronouncing things clearer than is probably needed. Which is the only thing that is noticeable about it. I reply ‘no, not an accent, but a slight birth defect.’ The topic is usually over with right there and then.

oh and the fact that friends and family get a giggle from asking me to stick my tongue out, which I simply can not.

But I like my tied tongue.

It makes me feel special.

Like 3rd nipple special.

Or 6th finger special.

Or missing big toe nail special.

Turns out I’m not a bad kisser either! As non- french as I am!

Leave a Reply

