Round 2. Weightloss

So I am my own worst enemy. What can I say? I love food. Well not so much love it, just love chocolate and chinese take out, and salt and vinegar chips, homey meals with gravy, cheese and worst of all BIG portions.

I was so proud of myself to have lost 15 kgs in just 12 weeks last year, I was feeling good and healthy and had heaps of energy. My downfall? My hesitation. Originally I’d wanted to lose a total of 25 kgs to get down to 70kgs which is within MY healthy weight range. But I was feeling so good at 80 kgs that I wasn’t sure I wanted to lose another 10.

I prefer to be bigger, rounder and softer after all, some of the most beautiful women around are in my opinion, a size 12 plus. I didn’t want to look ‘bony’ or ‘scrawny’ just more energetic and healthy.

So I got lazy. I was umming and arring about the way I excised and ‘allowing’ myself treats. Soon enough it was Christmas time and we were heading home for a few weeks.

I LOVE to cook big homey meals that warm your belly and your soul for family, I made the choice to not worry myself with a silly thing like weight loss during MY family time. I’d enjoy every moment and cook and eat and be merry.

And boy did I! I enjoyed every moment. Cheese platters with dried and fresh fruits, a few alcoholic drinks here and there, dessert almost every night. I could feel it creeping back I just didn’t really care.

I came home and got a little homesick and probably a bit …’meh’…yep, that’s what I was feeling….meh.

Instead of jumping on the treadmill I ate when bored.

I ‘tasted’ dinner as I was cooking it.

I shared whole blocks of chocolate in bed with Glen over a movie.

We picked up take away for lunch after the groceries…

And slowly but surely my clothes became tighter and tighter…not yet to the point where I cannot wear them, but to the point were they feel different and I don’t like it.

I feel like my face is again disappearing into a squishy-ness of neck, when I look down my belly protrudes further than my boobs and that’s never a good thing.  I’m getting more and more lethargic and for me that is not a good thing. I need my energy.

So what am I going to do about it?

Well work my butt off again I guess, there’s not much else I can do unless I want to keep on my way and keep on gaining weight.

Oh you want to know HOW MUCH I gained in the past lazy 6 months???

9.8 kgs.

Almost 10 kgs in 6 months. Just think if I’d waited another 6 before I got on top of things?

So I revisited CalorieKing.com (Which is seriously a MUST for Australian people wanting to keep track of things.) I put in my new weight, and I’m trying a slightly new plan of attack.

I make my meals in the morning and put them into calorie king to see what I’m eating BEFORE I’ve eaten it, that way I can make adjustments if needs be, BEFORE the damage is done, plus I don’t have to worry about what I’m going to eat, it’s pre-made to grab out of the fridge. No cooking of 2 meals at night.

Today I’ve eaten

  1. half a cup of porridge with a sliced banana and skim milk
  2. 2 sesame corn thins with tomato (no butter)
  3. half cup shredded lettuce, 1 tomato, a third avocado, small handful almonds and a pear
  4. another 2 sesame corn thins with tomato
  5. tonight I’ll be eating half a cup of white rice with baby corn, capsicum, brocoli, beans, peas with a teaspoon of soy sauce and a bunch of grapes.
  6. 2 litres of water! (We always forget the water, seriously the most important part, it helps flush the system.)
  7. Oh and 4 cups of black tea with skim milk (no sugar.)

A total of 850 calories.

(When I’m meant to be around the 1600 mark…hard to do when eating the RIGHT foods.)

I’m totally cutting out ALL sugar and ALL bad fats. Really the only good fats are in things like nuts and avocados and fish. Stay away from animal fats…

I then spent an hour on the treadmill, not leisurely strolling either, making sure I sweat and pushed myself. I am going to have blisters on the soles of my feet and bruises up my arm from hitting the stupid edge of the handle thingy, BUT I’ll get over it. I’ll be on it EVERYDAY, it is too easy to just say “I’ll have a break today and get back on tomorrow.” It doesn’t happen. Well for me at least…so everyday it is.

Total calories burned?

890.

850 in – 890 out = -40 calories.

So technically I’ve lost weight today.

So my aim right now is to lose 5 kgs in 4 weeks. Which I can handle that, I think it is very achievable, I may even lose more, but I don’t want to aim too high and be let down. My goal weight is 75 kgs this time. CLOSE to my ‘healthy weight range’ without being too thin.

I have had so many excuses over the past couple of months.

  • It’s going to take ages to lose the weight.
  • I’m tired.
  • It’s Easter soon I’ll wait so I can eat chocolate.
  • The kids won’t like it when I’m on the treadmill.
  • It’s boring on the treadmill for an hour.
  • I have dreadlocks now and I don’t want to get all sweaty (seriously this is a big one for me!!)
  • I just want to have a big baked dinner then I’ll start.
  • Its easier to eat what everyone else is having rather than cook 2 separate meals.

All of these, in my eyes were good excuses but really…they’re not at all. At the time yes, but looking at the almost 10 gs I gained and the hard work ahead of me to lose it again….well they were sucky excuses!

To me losing weight is a simple concept. And it really is….as long as we get up and just DO IT, and that is the hard part.

To lose weight you must burn more calories than you put in.

Example – you eat 50 calories and then burn 60 and that = a weight loss.

You eat 50 calories then sit on the lounge for an hour? = weight gain.

WHAT we eat also makes perfect sense to me.

10 maltesers = 145 calories.

A pear + a tomato+ and apple = LESS than 145 calories. Personally I know which would fill me up.  And after 10 maltesers I’d probably still be hungry and eat more….Get me?

Useless, pointless sugar…those are empty calories which do nothing for our health, do not give us energy and are well…pointless. Why do we do it?! (cause it’s yum…..darn it!!!)

Anyway….this time there was no planning, no ‘start’ date…I’m just shutting up and doing it. If I don’t start today I never will and I want to be as healthy as I can be for as long as I shall live.

So here we go again…round 2 and perhaps this time I should look into ‘long term’ goals not just short-term. I’ll let you know how much I’ve lost -if any- this time next week!

Leave a Reply

