Christmas Spirit.

I love christmas, but who doesn’t?

SONY DSC

The very moment you become a mother it has an entirely new meaning. I actually can’t remember all that many christmas’ before having kids, except for those few moments that stick when things happened on that one day a year where we could get away with eating sugary goods for breakfast and we didn’t get in trouble for waking mum and dad at dawn. One time like when my little brother was given a robotic arm. All my sister wanted to do was make its rude finger stick up.

All day.

SONY DSC

Mum and Dad would giggle while telling her it was rude, I personally was sitting back waiting to get my hand on the thing so I could do the same.

SONY DSC

That year I was around 12 and all I got was bed sheets and fluro underwear, which I actually thought meant I was ‘growing up’ and was quite cool in a weird way. That one year where dad took my sister and I shopping for each other and both of us picked the very same gift for the other. That one year we got a second hand….probably 6th hand computer and all we could do was play solitare on it but still it was the best thing ever!

SONY DSC

That one year I got a Hanson video and thought I would die because I loved them so much.

SONY DSC

Once I had kids the element of magic became more important for me. I want that day to be all about the kids, they have every right to be selfish and happy on that day, it is the very thing that gives us adults joy at christmas and secretly I think a child’s joy is is the closest one can get to the fountain of youth. They don’t have to cook the food or clean up the pigsty they create. It is the day they get to make reindeer food consitising of tapioca seeds, rice, glass noodles, dried fruit and nut which is too old and stale for human consumption, with a few bay leaves thrown in and blue food dye with their uncle.

(and then package and spread around the yard!)

SONY DSC

It is the day they get to wear pyjamas all day, or nothing at all in some of my kids case, they can wear funny lycra baby hats and sleep in strange places.

We are creating memories here and we are built of nothing but memories.

SONY DSC

The day must be fun and happy and it must be for them.

SONY DSC

My sister and I glanced at each other with slight smirks throughout christmas eve as our lies, yes lies…became a touch more elaborate than the previous year.

SONY DSC

Questions like ‘How come we have to be asleep before Santa arrives?’ get tougher and tougher to answer especially since Bella at 11 years old still 80% believes in him.

SONY DSC

I think about these things all the time and how I can prolong the element of magic and christmas spirit  especially for her, we answered with a sarcastic der-like shoulder shrug and asked back ‘Well how would Santa deliver all the presents on time?’

SONY DSC

“He could just say hi and give me a hug.’ Bella says.

“Oh my god….just imagine how long it would take Santa to say a little hi and hug each and every child around the world! Seriously, he’d run out of time.” We’d exclaim. “He’s not being rude Bella, he just wants to make sure each kid gets their presents before the suns up.”

SONY DSC

It satisfied her curiosity. It made sense just like when the tooth fairy didn’t come one Sunday night. “Tooth faires go to church on Sundays. Didn’t you know that?’

Sometimes as parents we need a little cover.

SONY DSC

Christmas means so much to me now as a mum and I am so happy that this year we were back in NSW for it. It is the one day a year where my kids can have copious amounts of chocolate before their christmas pancakes (really a pointless act, but it makes me feel good.) It is the one day a year where there is a constant stream of activities and food and laughter.

SONY DSC

The one day a year when all adult attention is souly focused on the utter happiness of our kids. (And about being able to BE kids ourselves.)

SONY DSC

It is the one day a year that is specifically all about giving our kids a massive amount of attention and joy and yes, the rules are bent and broken and sometimes there are none at all.

SONY DSC

But I love it.

It is my day to be a kid too.

SONY DSC

I was so happy to have Gwenda my mother-in-law stay, my sister Nicole, brother Matt, Lilly my niece, Mum and Oz her fiance and my little baby brother and sister Riley,11 and Gracie,9 all were here. We had put off our christmas day this year as Glen wasn’t home until late christmas night. Boxing day became our christmas and not one of our kids knew any different.

(Which makes me realise we could have a half year christmas too if we wanted!)

SONY DSC

We woke early to chocolate covered faces exclaiming Santa had been, they checked everything out before a big family pancake and cuppacino breakfast followed by present opening. After a round of ‘slamming golf balls into the dam’ and playing fairies in the stream, we went in search of a mysterious waterfall down at the back of the property with no luck, we returned for a swim and large lunch.

SONY DSC

After lunch was a hilarious and a tiny bit too serious nerf gun fight.

SONY DSC

I think my sister has anger issues.

SONY DSC

We spent the rest of the afternoon and evening snacking and playing cricket, totem tennis, football and soccer. Laughing our heads off at how we somehow managed to play all games at once yet across each others games. It was like a cross roads of ball games. If you were caught in the centre you were sure to get damaged. We were hit in the face, back of the head sometimes by accident, mostly on purpose.

SONY DSC

We laughed and played like the biggest group of kids.

SONY DSC

After a big dinner we lit our pool with glow sticks and had a final swim before hot showers and baths a tad of telly and finally bed.

SONY DSC

Despite utter exhaustion and a few tears here and there, it was one of the best days ever. We had such a ball with each other and I truly appreciated my family that day.

SONY DSC

There were moments where I looked around and despite all our differences, all our flaws and mistakes, all our weird traits and unique personalities we all just mooshed into one odd but fantastic family.

I love when things just click.

SONY DSC

And things for me that day clicked.

Some of us swear too much, some not at all. Some of us are touchy and some of us say stupid things. Some of us drink too much and some probably not enough. Some of us are too worried about silly things and some worry not at all. Some of us like to pass gas and blame it on others and some of us think it is hilarious and some of us not at all. Some of us hold the importance of family higher than others and some of us don’t care much at all about anything.

SONY DSC

But all of us were together.

All of us laughed.

All of us are each of us.

I see it now, the bigger picture.

We are what we are.

Nothing more, nothing less.

One big ugly family who together, are simply awesome.

One thought on “Christmas Spirit.

Leave a Reply

