Happy 2nd Birthday blog!

***This post is nowhere near finished, but it’s already 2 days late and I can’t get the rest of my pictures to upload. ALSO…it is very annoying to read, I added captions to the pictures and it’s distractin…but you’ll see***

It is so completely coincidental that I was sitting with a cup of tea on our front steps this morning when suddenly I thought of how long I’d been blogging.

SONY DSC
Remember this; When we spent the day at comet park in qld making wreaths for our hair using weeds.

Probably had something to do with the guilt I’ve felt for not writing anything for a good week.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Beautiful ‘seeds’ we bought from a man named Glen or as we called him ‘the birdman’ he invited us to visit his home where had millions of brilliantly coloured budgies.

But I began this post with the heading ‘happy belated birthday blog’ only to then wonder what date I actually began, I looked back and found this link to yagerbabies.com’s first birthday.

http://yagerbabies.com/2012/01/18/yagerbabies-wordpress-com-turns-one/

The date it was written?

SONY DSC
Remember this; Our very last trek from Blackwater qld, to our new home in nsw. Only 18 hours!

18th of January.

Weird.

SONY DSC
Rmemeber this; Buddy’s first ‘ride’ on Poppy’s motorbike. He’s afraid of a vaccum starting up, but not a motorbike!

Needless to say I changed the heading. Today IS -well WAS when I began writing- the second anniversary of the day I wrote a post called ‘should I really be blogging this.’

SONY DSC
Remember this; our stay with Dardy (my dad) wondering in awe through the junk yards.

And obviously I’m still not very knowledgable about this whole blogging business as I’m still using entire web addresses to direct people around the place instead of those cool links added into regular sentences!

SONY DSC
Remember this; this place was such a big part of my imagination as a kid. It was my wonderland. Still is.

Anyway….another year down and I’m still blown away that I’m still at it. Probably my longest ‘phase’ ever. But I’ve written throughout my life, it has always been a part of me, so it is probably one of the easier things for me to do.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Sophie my little 5 year-old. Such a good hugger, even of trees.

It lets me express myself in ways nothing else can. And despite initial fears about what others may think, I am so glad I’ve done it and put it out there and am quite happy to continue.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Bella building houses from sticks. She was bored. I told her I used to make them when I was bored as a kid. She loved it!

There have been times when I have actually had thoughts of completely wiping my blog from the cyber world. Gone without a trace. I do occasionally feel that it gives the wrong ‘impression’ of us as a family or as me as an individual.

SONY DSC
Remember this; visiting water. There was none in Blackwater. We missed it so much.

I have had emails and occasionally the odd comment that makes me wonder if yager babies is some people’s version of a weird reality television show and that is the part I don’t like all that much.

We are ACTUAL people.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Uncle Matt’s crazy amount of patience.

In those moments when I’ve felt like that, I’ve tried to remind myself of the amazing stories my REAL yager babies will read some day.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Bella’s 10th birthday. She was so proud to be in the double digits.

I would have loved to have had something like this to remind me of my upbringing because all too often it’s the difficult or not so pleasant things that stay with us the longest.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Sophie and Buddy at boambee bay reserve. She loves this boy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This has been another big year and it actually makes me think of that saying ‘day by day nothing seems to change, but all of a sudden, everything is different.’ I’m not 100% sure if that’s exactly how it goes but that’s my interpretation. We never really sit back and see how far we have come as families, or as individuals.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Bella got a cd player for her 10th. Now she listens to music that is older than Glen and I combined. Good taste,

Personally I know I have grown so much within this past year, I’ve come to terms with a lot about who I am and what I want to achieve as a being, not just as a career or as a mother or as a partner.

SONY DSC
Remember this; pure innocence

I’ve taken on a whole bunch of courses to help me further understand myself and people in general and not just in a ‘physical’ way but in a mental, spiritual and emotional way.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Buddy’s total dislike for ‘staged’ family shots. I wonder if this will ever change?

This year has meant a lot to us, we’ve done so many new things and re-visited old things.

SONY DSC
Remember this; my slow slip from homemade cakes to the prettifying of shop bought ones.

There have been ups like moving into our dream home which oddly is exactly what I’d always hoped for us. A lovely lady commented on a post I’d written a long while ago and while I replied in a polite way, a couple of days later I actually read the post she’d commented on. It was a strange feeling to read back over dreams I’d had for our future, the one we are now living.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Dardy (my dad) actually making an effort to be a part of our family after I threatened to never see him again. I know he cares. I know he loves us. I just need to accept that he cannot show it in odrinary ways.

It was almost like I’d had a premonition of things to come.

SONY DSC
Remember this; do not allow my kids to use up a whole $20 worth of coins in these machines. It may lead to compulsive gambling.

Our big girls began a new school, a beautiful little school that focus’ on the individuals, allows them to be who they are. It’s like an extended family. Even our hilarious bus driver is a part of it, the girls look forward to seeing him each morning and I feel safe having him bring them to and from school.

SONY DSC
Remember this; Our total awe in the magic we found in our own backyard.

Family has had much easier access to us and our kids, it’s so nice to be able to see people when we want to and not have to plan crazily expensive yearly ‘holidays’ to visit and keep in touch on a personal level.

SONY DSC
Remember this; cousins who love and who hate each other. Awfully like siblings.

Glen recently got a new car which he is in love with (and this is ONLY included because when I asked him what ‘big things’ happened this year…it was his only response!)

Remember this; Buddy's love of birds.
Remember this; Buddy’s love of birds.

Molly has found her ‘voice’ which occasionally I wish she hadn’t, such a bossy little boots. Bella is budding into a little woman, which freaks me out completely and daily. Sophie’s quest to become a princess is growing deeper with her age…not fading away like I thought it might. I don’t mind one bit.

Remember this; Molly's impatience is actually cute.
Remember this; Molly’s impatience is actually cute.

She really is a princess.

Remember this; My year 10 school reunion. I had a ball. It was far too short.
Remember this; My year 10 school reunion. I had a ball. It was far too short.

Violet has taken to rebelling against underwear AND shirts. The polar opposite of Miss Princess Sophie. But I love that too. She’s just being Violet.

Remember this; Buddy turned one! (and Glen and I had our first anniversary. Which we forgot.)
Remember this; Buddy turned one! (and Glen and I had our first anniversary. Which we forgot.)

Buddy was born purely to make me weak and defenceless, I know this now. He just has this way of making every single thing adorable.

I gave myself dreadlocks. FINALLY!
I gave myself dreadlocks. FINALLY!

I hate it. But I totally love it.

Remember this; Violet turned 3! (and I made a cheaters cake.)
Remember this; Violet turned 4! (and I made another cheaters cake.)

He’s the truest of loves. (In a non-weird way.)

Remember this; I took my jewellery and homewares...well all my handmade stuff to the markets. Bella had her own nail painting stall.
Remember this; I took my jewellery and homewares…well all my handmade stuff to the markets. Bella had her own nail painting stall.

(Besides Glen…who technically is more of a partner in crime.)

Remember this; we moved back home! We slept on the floor and had picnics for every meal until our furniture arrived 3 weeks late!!
Remember this; we moved back home! We slept on the floor and had picnics for every meal until our furniture arrived 3 weeks late!!

Buddy however I know will break my heart more than once in his lifetime. I know it but I’ll never be prepared for it.

Remember this; My sister and I will figh, disagree, and hate each other BUT we are sisters and as different as we are...we have the same heart. Accept it. Ok I do.
Remember this; My sister and I will figh, disagree, and hate each other BUT we are sisters and as different as we are…we have the same heart. Accept it. Ok I do.

My kids just keep on lifting me higher and then slamming me down. One minute I’m amazed at all the love and joy I have for them and then the very next I am amazed that they could make me so angry and sad.

Remember this; Besides Daddy, uncle Matto is an awesome role model. Much love. And so much to learn from him.
Remember this; Besides Daddy, uncle Matto is an awesome role model. Much love. And so much to learn from him.

Crazy emotional rollercoaster this parenting thing…then again I’ve never ever been on a rollercoaster so how would I know?

Remember this; We fight, but we are best friends.
Remember this; We fight, but we are best friends.

We have also had many downs. I guess the top one on my personal list would be ‘breaking up’ with my best friend earlier in the year. It utterly crushed me. Probably why I haven’t really mentioned anything about it, I just don’t want to think about it, I’m keeping all my positives to myself. I know that I hurt her with things I’d said and would love to apologise (so “sorry” if you ever read this) but I just can’t go back there and possibly get hurt again. It was not meant to be. We once had decided that we were ‘soul mates’ and possibly still are, but I rather like to think that perhaps we taught each other valuble things and not all is lost. I hold no anger, just understanding toward the situation.

Remember this; The start of our vegetable garden. I never thought I'd be patient enough to grow our own fresh veg. I was wrong.
Remember this; The start of our vegetable garden. I never thought I’d be patient enough to grow our own fresh veg. I was wrong.

I’m not the kind of person who has friends….I know that always gets taken the wrong way but I never feel like I just ‘fit.’ As much as I could be myself with my ex best friend there was always still just this part of me that could never be true.

Remember this; My butt has never been small but I have finally come to love it :) BIG step.
Remember this; My butt has never been small but I have finally come to love it 🙂 BIG step.

One thing I NEED is to be true to me.

Remember this; Violet and Molly's first day of pre-school. Molly dropped out after just 3 days, Violet however loved it!
Remember this; Violet and Molly’s first day of pre-school. Molly dropped out after just 3 days, Violet however loved it!

Being on my own means I can be just that.

Remember this; there can never, ever be too many children.
Remember this; there can never, ever be too many children.

And I am happy about it.

Remember this; If there is magic in our spirit...there will be magic wherever.
Remember this; If there is magic in our spirit…there will be magic wherever.

We also very sadly lost Glen’s beautiful Aunty Marie. I really loved that lady, she was so creative and honest. She’d just start randomly singing to the kids now and then. It’s just so hard to accept sometimes that someone is gone. I still remember the last time I saw her. She showed me a really pretty and clever embroidered cushion she’d made. She’d coloured it using melted crayon, she also gave me some ribbed material. I sat beside her chair on the carpet looking up at her as she explained how to sew it. I, nodding and trying to remember every scrap of information she was telling me, every word she said. But still I honestly thought I’d see her again. Not that I would ever have said goodbye. So I guess there never really would have been a perfect ‘last time.’

Remember this; clean feet are not welcome here.
Remember this; clean feet are not welcome here.

A soul like hers has much more work to do. We will meet again.

Remember this; nothing is ever considered 'too much' when it comes to afternoon tea.
Remember this; nothing is ever considered ‘too much’ when it comes to afternoon tea.

I prefer saying “hello.”

Remember this; it is ALWAYS a good time to wear something pretty.
Remember this; it is ALWAYS a good time to wear something pretty.

She also gave me some serving platters.

Remember this; we invited Victor and Loch to live with us. We totally love them and they totally love us.
Remember this; we invited Victor and Loch to live with us. We totally love them and they totally love us.

I use them at just about every meal, I don’t think Glen realises it. That kind of makes it all the more special, just a part of our daily routine which brings her back to mind.

Remember this; The very first time my kids had seen hail. They were scared and amazed all at once. I loved that day.
Remember this; The very first time my kids had seen hail. They were scared and amazed all at once. I loved that day.

For Glen to tell me Aunty Marie had passed away was a little unbelievable. We all knew she was unwell, but it felt too soon.

Remember this; we built a fire pit. My kids are goofy and I hope they stay that way.
Remember this; we built a fire pit. My kids are goofy and I hope they stay that way.

I am glad her suffering wasn’t prolonged but it felt…..just too soon.

Remember this; chickens moved in.
Remember this; chickens moved in.

My own mum had a skin cancer removed from her face. She didn’t even call me, I turned up at her house one day and saw that she had an odd line across her cheek. She told me she’d been to the doctor -which is extremely rare, and therefore must have been a big deal- and they’d booked her in for surgery the very next day. She laughed and smiled as she told me, I had a sinking feeling all the while. “How come you didn’t call me?!”

Remember this; Buddy had been wearing Molly's pink boots so I bought hims some of his very own. He fell in love, would sleep, eat and even swim with them on. I had to hide them for a couple of days as his feet began to stink!
Remember this; Buddy had been wearing Molly’s pink boots so I bought hims some of his very own. He fell in love, would sleep, eat and even swim with them on. I had to hide them for a couple of days as his feet began to stink!

Mum has always, ALWAYS been out in the sun, she practically lived at the beach as a child, never ever wore sunscreen. I know this is where I get my bad habits. I’m trying to improve them with my own kids.

Remember this; Matt and I trying to be 'awesome'...really...we were trying sooo hard. I giggle at the memory!
Remember this; Matt and I trying to be ‘awesome’…really…we were trying sooo hard. I giggle at the memory!

It made me realise, that no matter what my mum has ever done, or not done, said or not said. All must be forgiven. Right now, regardless of how much time any of us has. I need to let it all go. There is no changing the past only changing of the emotions associated with the past. She is my mum, not a super hero.

Remember this; Matt and I began a micronation called Edenesia. I am the Empress and he is the Archduke. www.MicronationofEdenesia.com Yes...elaborate...yes fun!
Remember this; Matt and I began a micronation called Edenesia. I am the Empress and he is the Archduke. http://www.MicronationofEdenesia.com Yes…elaborate…yes fun!

Being someones mum doesn’t automatically turn you into some magical ‘perfect’ creature….still merely human. Mistakes will be made and continue to be made. I don’t want my biggest mistake to be holding things against my mum because she simply was who she was.

After all….I do know there are a lot of things about me that I actually learnt from her.

And I am thankful.

This year we also lost our pets. Sweedie and Bones our two small dogs both succumbed to those deadly little paralysis ticks, we also lost our cheeky Mango and Frost to a rather large diamond python.

We almost lost Ollie to ticks to but miraculously he pulled through.

(Honestly I can’t think of all that much from before our big move. It’s kind of like we are here, in this present that was meant for us and it is all that exisits now.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This year has held so many memories and I can only hope that I have captured even just a small amount of them here in my blog.

One very big thing I am realising is that our memories are all we are. Looking back at my own childhood, all I know is what I remember.

I wish I had more photos.

I wish I had more stories.

I’m glad my kids will have it all.

There will come a day when we will need to look back an assess our life, that time when it’s all too late. That time at the very end where all you want to do is cram in all the best life has to offer, all that time you wished you’d spent with loved ones and you’re wondering why you hadn’t done it all before.

Wondering why we waited until we knew it was too late.

I’d like to, on that day to be content in knowing that not one thing was left undone.

Not one thing was left unsaid.

I’d like to feel lazy and comfortable to sit back and watch internal sideshows of all these memories we’ve made. I want to feel at peace knowing that even if someday my kids do not have me, then they will have an abundance of memories to turn to.

No iPods or iPads, no cosmetics or cars, no Nintendo’s or Wii’s.

Nothing of monetary value at all.

It is the only true gift we can give our children that will help them carry their own heads high even when we aren’t their to help them.

Memories are priceless.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thank you blog.

You are my memory for those moments when it will become weak, you are my voice for my children to hear when I am no longer there. You are my pain, my anger, my happiness and joy.

You’re becoming a living part of me.

A part that is going to keep growing and changing just as I.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Start a blog guys!

Seriously. I can’t wait to go back and read it all in 20 years time and think things like…woah, I’ve changed. Or wow…I was a douche….or hmph I haven’t changed at all.

All the birthdays, all the Christmases, birth’s….the whole lot is right here in one place.

I find it amazing.

Thank you to all my readers, you are seriously greatly appreciated!

Here’s to another year!

Leave a Reply

