“Time passes regardless”

“If you don’t want to do something because you think it will take too much time; Do it anyway. Time passes regardless.”

I absolutely love this quote.

It isn’t exactly worded in exactly the same way as whom ever it may have been who’d originally said it. But…I like it that way.

I guess it would be one of the quotes that could describe me, or perhaps that I live by.

Every time I come up with a new idea or concept or thought, these words come to mind. So often we’re overwhelmed by things in our lives and we quit far too easily because we think ‘it will take forever’ or ‘I couldn’t be bothered waiting’ or ‘it won’t happen soon enough.’ It’s possibly the only thing that ever keeps me going.

It can be applied to all things in life too. When I’m feeling down I think of it and realise that I don’t want to waste time dwelling on bad feelings so I move on. I mean why waste a day in bed feeling sorry for myself? When my kids are having a horrible day behaviourally, I take a breath and remain patient. This time will also pass. All things do. This quote keeps me moving forward, toward new and better things.

I am very conscious of time and the value I place on it. I don’t like to waste an ounce. I use my time to spend with my children, hopefully in doing so I am helping them create memories which will be the foundation of who they are. I like to create things, all kinds of things. I like to take an interest in almost everything. I like to learn something all the time.

I used my time while away from my blog fairly well I guess. I made more than I’d ever made before and really focused on building the platform for my future shop (which is currently only online and in some selected stores until my smallest kids are in school.)

https://www.etsy.com/au/shop/TheEcoPrincess Check out some of my items here.

I mean one day I’d like to have what one calls a ‘career’ and I’ve realised that of all the things I have ever wanted to be (which is almost everything at one time or another) I’m an artist, and you know I almost say that with a resigned sigh.

I remember telling my parents as an emotional, irrational, curiously crafty and slightly eccentric child that I wanted to be an artist. There was an initial ‘Oh that’s good’ followed by the old ‘you know artists don’t make much money’ or ‘people don’t take artists seriously’

And since that time I have switched from one interest to another and god only knows I have tried many, many….many a different thing. But the base of who I am is someone who makes beautiful and useful things.

I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t really care if I am taken seriously and nor do I care all that much for money.

I make things, I always have. My mind works in a way that makes ideas and designs real. It is what I am good at. It is what makes me happy.

But anyway, one thing I have learned from my time away from here is that I’m awfully good at being a ‘reclusive artist.’ So good that I can spend weeks at home with no contact with the outside world just making things, playing games with my children, and roaming our bushland home. I eventually realise how much time has passed.

Time has no meaning to me anymore.

My only concept of time passing is either Glen is home or Glen is not. Time to drop off or pick up kids.

I’m literally living in a fantasy land.

(And now that I say it, it doesn’t sound all that bad.)

I’ve really loved my space and complete quiet but I just feel that I’d like to come back now.

At first I stopped writing because I felt invaded. While I was happy that the interest in my blog was beginning to quickly grow it also made me afraid. It is one thing to sit here in my home, alone and type my intimate ideas, thoughts, dreams and feelings… another to have lots of people read it. And I am occasionally to conscience of that fact.

I mean this is my actual life.

It is mine and I wanted to keep it safe and protected.

It is the life of my children.

Which is another reason I chose to start again. I didn’t pick up their diaries and baby books and write in those instead of this blog like I’d planned too. And I cannot remember the last time I actually printed a physical photo. I’ve had a constant guilt at the thought of potentially losing some memories. Important memories, mundane memories…but memories none the less that one day my little angels may want to recall….or myself.

So I am back. Back to document and record….

I told myself once I started to feel the urge to open up and share again that I would do it under one strict rule.

INSPIRE.

1. Write about things I am passionate about and what I feel is important. Inspire others to feel free to do the same.
2. Be sure I am clear about my opinions and only express them in way that may inspire a new way of thinking, learning or living.

All the while remembering that this blog is first and foremost for my children’s future.

It’s all for them.

In the weeks ahead I’ll include instructions on heaps of our DIY stuff and perhaps a recipe or two and also fill you all in on my feelings about our new PM -which I’m sure everyone is dying to hear about- and our environment and freaky weather, our tanks running out of water and our new appreciation of being able to simply turn on a tap for a drink of fresh water. And how to decorate your home virtually for free (as long as your tastes are similar to mine I guess!) AND HEAPS MORE…

Oh, oh, OH!!! I have learned how to create PDF files So I will be offering lots of free patterns and plans for various designs and projects for you to do at home with your family. So keep an eye out.

So with that said I shall now bombard you with some of what has happened in our life while ‘time has passed.’

SONY DSC

Painted masterpieces!

SONY DSC

Fished for dinner.

SONY DSC

Yum! (actually I dislike fish…but the kid’s love it.)

SONY DSC

I got one!

SONY DSC

I’m waiting for one…

SONY DSC

I practically designed and created entire wardrobes for the kids. (Now they all look like funky hobos.)

SONY DSC

Buddy turned 2! (and I also accidentally shaved his head.)

SONY DSC

My dad put me in charge of turning this bus into a funky bush weekender. (This will be my biggest design project yet! Exciting.)

SONY DSC

We became heroes.

SONY DSC

And played for hours.

SONY DSC

We had goodies.

SONY DSC

And super cute baddies.

SONY DSC

We made dolls furniture out of egg cartons.

SONY DSC

They were perfect for our mini Lalas.

SONY DSC

Made our entrance pretty for free using old stuff we already had.

SONY DSC

We made tents for picnics and princesses in the bush.

SONY DSC

We found out that Tinker bell was part kangaroo.

SONY DSC

(And also not a girl. Thanks to a white fluffy set of you know whats. Glen loving began calling him “Tinker balls.” So inappropriate *giggle*)

SONY DSC

Fairy gardens were played with for days.

SONY DSC

We made things to hang in our rooms.

SONY DSC

Buddy’s branch and origami crane piece.

SONY DSC

We made quilts. Lots of quilts.

SONY DSC

We did lots of origami. One day we made boats and had races in our little river.

SONY DSC

So much adrenaline! (no actually…it was painfully slow….)

SONY DSC

Almost at the finish line.

SONY DSC

Sometimes we just watched the world go by.

SONY DSC

We made toys for ourselves, to give away and also for our shop. https://www.etsy.com/au/shop/TheEcoPrincess

SONY DSC

We hung out with cows at Dardy’s farm.

SONY DSC

Victor keeping watch as always.

SONY DSC

We went through a phase where our swings were not ‘boring’ anymore.

SONY DSC

I crocheted heaps of weird and wonderful scarves and ‘things’ from all my knotted together wool.

SONY DSC

This is pretty much my favourite possession in the world. I made this rainbow quilt from all our old clothes. There are patches of all my children’s baby clothes right up to their ages now and even some of my old favorites which were way past wearable. I totally LOVE that I can point to any square and know who’s it was, when they wore it and it makes me smile.

The best part is that I get to snuggle with it every single night.

Utter comfort blanket!

SONY DSC

I began to read again. More to my kids and more for myself. Which is probably what reminded me of my love of words.

SONY DSC

The kids and I learned how to literally make our own hard cover books! I used the colouring pictures I’d created to fill this one.

SONY DSC

Our chickens are laying about 6 eggs per day which is so great. We go through so many and now we don’t have to buy them.

SONY DSC

Sometimes we had trouble opening things.

SONY DSC

We’ve decorated heaps of Stuff.

SONY DSC

And added tonnes of colour to our home.

SONY DSC

I now have shoes. (which I hardly wear. But I have some none the less.)

SONY DSC

We made awesome costumes for book week. Sophie was a witch.

SONY DSC

Violet was Tiger lily. Bella was a twilight vampire. We coated her in vaso and sprinkled silver glitter all over her, she literally sparkled in the sunlight. (the picture won’t upload.)

SONY DSC

Molly dressed up too. (But then again she is USUALLY dressed up.)

SONY DSC

Again I crocheted. But this time filling orders!

SONY DSC

Bella’s 12th birthday cake as requested. Blue with flowers and glitter. Edible glitter who knew?! (probably everyone except me) Now all our sweet treats are glitterfied because my children love the idea of sparkly poo.

SONY DSC

Happy 12th Bella!

SONY DSC

(I just love the faces in the background. Every birthday now, we must relight the candles and sing happy birthday to Buddy. So cute.) Bella had a girl’s movie night sleepover complete with movie ticket invites, nail painting, pop corn and the Twilight box set with which she is obsessed.

SONY DSC

We have finally realised the magic of all mum’s empty kitchen cupboards!

SONY DSC

I have an extraordinarily weird amount of kitchen cupboard space.

SONY DSC

We slept so peacefully.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

We have saved every single empty jar and bottle so we could paint them and put them pretty much everywhere that was a tad dull.

SONY DSC

I had a birthday too! 29 years old and I still feel the same as I did at 19…When do we grow up?…Seriously…when?

SONY DSC

We tried our hand at weaving.

SONY DSC

I was too lazy to make a loom so we used two chairs.

SONY DSC

Amazingly My kids were so patient with it.

SONY DSC

Bella made her own.

SONY DSC

The end result was pretty cool.

SONY DSC

And messy. Not that Pepper minded.

SONY DSC

I took my kids to the mulberry tree I used to visit as a kid to pick the berries when ripe.

SONY DSC

We filled bowls and containers and brought them home (on numerous times) to add to cakes, pies and pancakes. We also ate them until our tongues were purple and our hands were stained.

It was nice to take my kids to a tree that I loved when I was a kid and one that they now love too. Who knows, they may take their own kids one day (if it’s still standing that is.)

SONY DSC

We’ve been using our beautiful damn heaps more. We’ve cleared it out a bit now and Glen has mowed the island and we’re planning to put up a slide and swing.

SONY DSC

The kid’s love it.

SONY DSC

And people wonder why I don’t leave home….

SONY DSC

It’s almost as good as a real beach.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

                                                 Checking out the island.

SONY DSC

We’ve been cute.

SONY DSC

Worked on our butter curl roses.

SONY DSC

Played with dead bugs.

SONY DSC

Built disgustingly large forts in our lounge room.

SONY DSC

Been beautiful magic fairies. (who are obsessed with pink.)

SONY DSC

Molly turned 4!

SONY DSC

And we have made many a pretty mess.

SONY DSC

I tried to take pictures in a style that just about everyone by now has already done. The good old draw a chalk balloon and get your kids to hold on.

SONY DSC

It didn’t work so well.

SONY DSC

And Violet didn’t want to do it at all despite how I ranted about how fun it would be. “It’s just lying down mum.”

She was right and it was stupid.

SONY DSC

And even though Bud was more than willing, he couldn’t grasp the concept.

SONY DSC

The kids and I went through a yarn bombing phase. If you don’t know what that is then basically it involves being extremely bored and having nothing constructive to do so you therefore wrap objects with wool.

I am now glad that I have no wool left or else a whole lot more of our house would have become comfortably fuzzier.

SONY DSC

I made Buddy the coolest – not to mention freest- set of building blocks which my girls all painted for him.

SONY DSC

We made paper dolls and clothes to dress them.

SONY DSC

Again pretty messes.

SONY DSC

And pretty blue buns.

SONY DSC

I’ve taken to stopping on the side of the road to pick bright wild flowers. Free fresh flowers honestly…who could resist? (and I’m not talking stopping in front of someone’s house….so don’t blame me if you get caught trying to do that!)

SONY DSC

Free nature decor. So fancy shmancy.

SONY DSC

I am in the process of making a nature corner inside, with lots of interesting natural toys. I’ve decorated river stones and sanded and oiled pretty pieces of wood.

SONY DSC

So far so good.

SONY DSC

I finally got around to fixing my second-hand $30 tv cabinet. I painted some birds on it, gave it shiny new handles and drew designs all over it.

SONY DSC

And now it is awesome.

SONY DSC

I have hung branches and old fabric in weird places.

SONY DSC

Can you see ‘us’ here?

SONY DSC

Even my pile of washing is colourful <—– over there in the bottom corner.

SONY DSC

We’re putting amazing things everywhere.

SONY DSC

And more plants. In weird places and in curious things.

SONY DSC

And it’s getting greener!

SONY DSC

Thank you nan for the chokos we didn’t eat. They’re now super cool decorations.

SONY DSC

But by far at the moment I like the stuff I’ve done in my bathroom. Like this aloe vera plant in this beautiful stoneware cup and saucer set I found in a 2nd hand shop for $1!

SONY DSC

And this stuff on our sink. The small gold baking dish I picked up for 20 cents along with the green and pretty blue porcelain tea-cup from a second-hand shop. The pink one in the background is especially special. My brother hand-made it for me years ago.

SONY DSC

Here take a closer look. I hang my hook earrings on this wooden chalice style cup that Glen’s dad gave the kids along with a whole bunch of other play crockery and tea pots and stuff. He too got into the spirit of recycling, picking it all up from a garage sale.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

So regardless of whether or not I document all that we do, or do not do. Regardless of whether I share it or not…time will pass.

And I think I’ve decided that it’s better a use of my time to do what we do while trying to remember as much as I can and by possibly showing others that life can be lived (and decorated) in simplistic happy ways.

So I apologise for the lack of interesting gossip which I sure some may have suspected when I left my blog 6 months ago.

There is no secret pregnancy (which was rated as number one in the theories.)

There is no marriage break down.

There has been no disastrous tragedy.

Just ordinary normal life stuff.

So until next time….

Leave a Reply

