Feed your belly & heart & soul.

For the past 6 weeks we’ve been trialling a new diet in our house, now I must stress that by using the word ‘diet’ I don’t mean we are trying to loss weight and I don’t mean that we are restricting our food so that we’re starving all the time!

I mean diet as in a new set of foods we consume.

I got extremely tired of the guilt I felt at feeding my kids things which in my heart knew were bad for them.

Sugar, fat, chemicals. (and that’s just the shortlist!)

Yuck.

However I didn’t want my kids to feel like they were missing out on anything, I knew if I cut out everything they liked and replaced it with something leafy and green they’d basically hate me for ruining their lives.

1 egg, 1 cup wholemeal flour, 3/4 cup flour, 1/2 banana. (double or triple) Place in a bowl and beat into a batter. Add tablespoons to a hot pan, flip when bubbles arise. Serve with strawberries and drizzle with teaspoon of honey.
1 egg, 1 cup wholemeal flour, 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 banana. (You can easily double or triple this recipe)
Place in a bowl and beat into a batter. Add tablespoons to a hot pan, flip when bubbles arise. Serve with strawberries and drizzle with teaspoon of honey.

 

So, I’ve had to be creative.

I am working on the principal of ‘if it comes from Earth, ie plants and animals it is natural, therefore healthy.’

So we eat fruits, nuts, veggies, eggs, meat, honey. I make exceptions with wholemeal flour and bread and also our overly processed milk.

I make them hot chips, only I bake them. We have air popped pop corn sprinkled with herbs or natural salt as a crunchy salty alternative to chips. We’ve swapped white rice for brown (which is actually yummier) We have a handful of dried fruits or frozen berries instead of lollies. We freeze our own fresh squeezed juices instead of ice cream or icy poles. We have porridge with sultanas or honey for breaky, wholemeal salad wraps for lunch.

Fruit for dessert.

Baked pineapple/capsicum/prawn with brown rice with egg and vegetables.
Baked pineapple/capsicum/prawn with brown rice with egg and vegetables.

There are lots of better choices to make.

We no longer buy sugar instead we used dried fruits or honey as a sweetener and the kids have adjusted without complaint our aim was not so much to cut down on sugar but more to find a natural healthier alternative.

We no longer use butter at all, not for sandwiches or toast or for cooking. It wasn’t a big deal we got over it, though I’ve had a harder time trying to find alternatives for baking purposes, which I must admit has taken a bit of trial and error but I got there.

Fruit, veg and chicken diced, skewered and barbequed.
Fruit, veg and chicken diced, skewered and barbequed.

Making things for the kids lunch boxes has been the hardest part, I’d normally make some muffins or cakes to make up part of their recess but I’ve finally got a small list of recipes and the kids love it.

(Thank goodness.)

ALSO I wanted to add before you say things like “I can’t afford to eat like that!” rethink it. Price is always the biggest thing I face when grocery shopping, considering how much I LOVE food I really dislike spending money on it but like to make sure we have plenty on hand.

Baked vegetables and chicken with home-made cheese (unsalted/unsweetened) on home-made wholemeal tortillas.
Baked vegetables and chicken with home-made cheese (unsalted/unsweetened) on home-made wholemeal tortillas.

It is a little trickier for me to work out simply because I shop fortnightly and there is a whole lot more fresh food to deal with but it is possible. I’ve gotten my ‘shop’ shopping (things like toilet paper, flour, rice and meat) down to $100 a fortnight. I use online shopping instead of going into the shops, it has saved me so much, (not to mention the stress) even if I am tempted by something online I can ‘add it to my trolley’ and at the end I can cull my shopping.

You end up with only the essentials in your trolley before even committing to purchasing it.

It is really rewarding being able to cull your total shopping price from $150 back down to $100 knowing that you probably shouldn’t have added that second packet of busicuts anyway.

Buying 3 prawns per person is affordable (compare specials while shopping online)
Buying 3 prawns per person is affordable (compare specials while shopping online)

(Can you tell I LOVE online grocery shopping?)

Using a dash of water to avoid sticking the pan instead of oils or butter and use the lid during cooking. Yummy, moist meat!
Using a dash of water to avoid sticking the pan instead of oils or butter and use the lid during cooking. Yummy, moist meat!

Meat I refuse to buy anything processed so I choose hormone free meats.

This can get costly so I have decided to halve our meat intake as we eat a lot and don’t need meat every single day. (though you may not have a family of 7 to think about.) I substitute with eggs and other protein filled foods. Instead of pulling 4 chicken breasts from the freezer I only get out too and make it stretch by dicing it and adding to a rice dish or we just have smaller portions and add more veg.

I then have $100 to take with me into the fresh food shop. Who the heck cares if I’m tempted into buying an extra kilogram of plums?! Or that extra head of broccoli?

Just make sure if you choose to shop this way you are prepared to use the fresh food before it goes bad, otherwise its a waste of money no matter how cheap. Be creative, check the fridge to see what NEEDS to be used and jump on google for recipes and try something new. Don’t forget to take a risk here and there recipes don’t HAVE to be followed strictly, if something requires a huge lump of butter, swap it for cooked pumpkin for savory, banana for sweet (or again google alternatives.)

OR you could do the responsible thing and plan out your healthy meals. (I wish I was disciplined enough for that.)

Oh and !!!!FOR GOODNESS SAKES!!!! DO NOT buy drinks!!! Why would you waste money on sugary poison when we have free water coming straight from the taps?!

I don’t get it.

(though I do drink coffee with skim milk AND tea…so I’m a hypocrite I guess. DON’T ADD SUGAR!!!)

Anyway…enough blabbing….

Here’s a recipe for my Mango & Pumpkin cake. (alternatively strawberry & banana)

SONY DSC

  • 1/2 cup cooked and cooled pumpkin cubes (OR 2 bananas)
  • 1 med-large mango (OR I cup chopped strawberries)
  • 3/4 cup honey
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 cups 100% wholemeal self-raising flour

Now literally add it all to a mixing bowl and beat until smooth. Pour into a greased (use a spray oil lightly) cake tin or loaf pan and bake at 180 degrees for 35 minutes or until golden brown and springy to the touch.

SONY DSC

It’s simple, its delicious and moist (thank you pumpkin/banana) and there’s nothing in it that I would feel bad about my children eating in a slice of cake.

SONY DSC

It’s been hard to find things that I can bake that are 100% natural but I’m still trying. Feel free to add a link in the comments to any healthy treats you have made.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There are many health benefits of eating ‘the way nature intended’ we don’t feel like we’re missing out on anything we’re just trading for natural alternatives and using different cooking methods to avoid the added fats and oils.

Our behaviours are calm yet energetic, we’re soaking in the vitamins and minerals! Our skin hair and nails are much healthier and we all just feel good knowing we’re not stock piling unhealthy chemicals and fats inside our precious bodies.

We only get one, so we intend to keep ours happy!

Have a lovely, healthy day!

One thought on “Feed your belly & heart & soul.

Leave a Reply

